RootSync Frequently Asked Questions
To get a quicker response to some of the most discussed topics we are asked about, this is a selection of our most Frequently Asked Questions.
Go to rasync.rootaxcess.com to log in. Once you're logged in, you will see your personal dashboard where you can upload, download, share, and collaborate files.
To upload a file, navigate to the "upload files" button on the top left of your screen. Once "upload files" is clicked it will redirect to a new page where you can drag and drop files to sync up to the cloud. An alternate way to upload is to click "add files" and search for files manually on your machine.
One of the main values of a file sync solution is being able to access files from all devices. So not only will you have your files in the cloud, but on local machines as well. On the top right of the dashboard you will find a link "Download App". This is where you will click to install the agent for offline file access. Once you click "Download App" it will redirect you to a page to either download Windows, Mac, iOS, and Android apps. Choose the appropriate OS (Operating System) and follow the installation instructions to install on your local machine or device. After you finish installation, it will ask for your credentials to log in.
The files in the cloud will now propagate down to that machine. Each file will show a blue icon, which means the file is now syncing. You can also upload files to the cloud by dropping files into your sync folder. Once files are done syncing down to the local machine, they will change to a green checkmark.
There are two different ways to share files. The first way is called a 3rd party share. Using the 3rd party share you can share files with people who are not a user in the system. It will send a secure link to download the file. This would replace the obstacle of sharing large files through email. The second way is called team-share. Team-shares are used to share a folder with a specific group of users. The administrator can create these shares for your team.
To share a file with an individual or group is simple. Just right click on an file or folder and click Share. When you click share, it will redirect to a form. Fill out all email addresses to share the file with. You can add an expiration date for the share to expire. Once the share expires the link will no longer be available. We also allow you to add a message if needed. If "Send unique link to each person?" is checked, you will be able to track who opens and downloads the file. After the "share" button is clicked, a message will say, "Share links were sent successfully." You will be left on a page that gives an option to download the file to your local machine, remove the share, go to your files, or track your shares.
Sometimes it is easier to do a 3rd party share directly from the sync folder. Just right click on the file, navigate to "Synced Tool', and click "Share link". This will redirect to the same form as above.
As we discussed earlier, Team -shares are used for team collaboration. These are different than personal folders. A team-share folder will have an icon with people on it. You know a folder is a team-share when this icon is visible. Anytime you change a file in this folder, it will then update across everyone's devices that are attached to that share. This allows collaboration in real-time. You will also be able to access older versions of files which are called "revisions".
As long as you have permission, you can access your team-share from your sync folder. Same as the web UI, anytime you change a file it will propagate to all other devices and users associated with the share.
You can track and view all of your team-shares and 3rd party shares. Just click on the "Shares" tab. On the top portion, you will see your team-shares, and below your 3rd party shares. Only an administrator can delete a team-share. From the shares page, you can browse your team-share files. For 3rd party shares you can delete, track, and view your shares.
Generally users aren't allowed to delete their own files unless they have permission. If you right click and press "Delete", the file will still be on the server. If you accidentally deleted or need to find the file again, it is easy to restore. On the top right of the screen next to the file search bar, you will find "Show Deleted". After you click "Show Deleted", all deleted files will show up faded out.
Revisions or versions of file changes are kept. You can go back to older versions of files very easily. From the web UI right click on the file and click "Revisions".
Once you click "Revisions", it will redirect to a screen where you can download older versions or restore an older version to the current revision. The most current version will be highlighted in green.
The activity log is used to track all usage across the system. You can see when you deleted a file, made a change, or any other activity.